So here's my question. I have been using World versions of the BB from AT&T for about 5 years now. I travel a lot, so I never even think about switching networks or anything....I'm not sure how the World Phone works...but whereever I go...out of the country or in little podunk towns in the US, my phone ALWAYS works. Always.

Will I lose that if I switch FROM a World Phone?
    11-02-11 08:49 AM
    There's no such thing as a 'World' phone, that will work on all global networks.

What you will have is a GSM phone with 3G bands 1, 2, 5 & 6, which will work fine on 3G around most of the world.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    11-02-11 08:59 AM
    I think the AT&T 3g bands are the ones that are most commonly used... Ive been to colombia and honduras this year with my TMobile 9900 and i only got EDGE
    11-02-11 09:36 AM
    There's no such thing as a 'World' phone, that will work on all global networks.

What you will have is a GSM phone with 3G bands 1, 2, 5 & 6, which will work fine on 3G around most of the world.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    Yep. It'll work the same as your current device.

Verizon markets some of their devices as "world" phones because they have GSM radios in them as well as CDMA or whatever else they're using on their network. All AT&T devices are GSM.
    11-02-11 10:19 AM
    I only have AT&T, never have been on Verizon. And I have always gotten the WORLD phone from AT&T...I have had a 9000, Tour...now 9700...ALL World Phones.

I'm not sure what these terms CDMA and GSM means...can somebody tell me in layman's terms what differences I will see in phone service going from a WORLD phone BB to a NON-WORLD phone BB and how it may affect my service while I travel?
    11-02-11 10:33 AM
    The term "World Phone" came when CDMA carriers weren't including GSM radio's in their phones. Hence you were limited to home soil for use or buying a different phone for overseas.