so I've been using the power button which used to be slightly higher than the playbook cases is now almost flush and makes weird spring noises wheni push it. Has anyone else noticed their power button slowly breaking after using it repeatedly to turn the screen display on and off? I'm tempted to send it in for repair before my 1 year warranty is up.
    09-19-11 10:25 PM
    I've only ever used my power button once.
    09-19-11 10:37 PM
    It's a common problem. I'm not sure it's a big deal, mines the same way. I just use the power button less. Use the wake gesture and the standby button.
    09-19-11 10:38 PM
    It's a common problem. I'm not sure it's a big deal, mines the same way. I just use the power button less. Use the wake gesture and the standby button.
    So I can wake the PB up using a gesture?
    And what is the Standby button? It is not like the ipad that uses the same button to power off and put the device into standby?
    Sorry, Im a PB noob, just ordered mine this week. lol
    09-19-11 11:52 PM
    gestures to wake it up are swiping it in any direction, bezel to bezel. (left to right, right to left, up to down and down to up)
    You can put it into standby by tapping the battery icon, there an option to resart, power down and standby.
    I rarely use my power button, only to turn it on when I shut it off
    09-20-11 12:04 AM
    Press the Battery icon (upper right) and it will off 3 choices/buttons. You can place it in standby, poweroff, or restart.

A full swipe across the bezel (either up/down or down/up or left/right, etc) will bring it out of standby. A quick press of the power places it in standby a longer press turns it off. Press power button to reverse.

You can also let it timeout to enter standby and this is adjustable.

By the way, when listening to music, the vol up/down will advance or goback tracks.
    09-20-11 12:17 AM