My marketing department and my big corporation company said they were going to develop a Blackberry app to help them size parts for a machine. Its just a database. You simply enter the model number of a piece of equipment and it spits out another part number for the part.

Very simple.

Today we get the "app" and its just a website link. I said "this is not an app" It would be so much better to have an icon on everyone's blackberry that has our logo (so they have to see it every day) and they click on it and it opens the browser and goes straight to the link.

They said that is impossible as it would cost $50,000 to do it.

I said BS!

But I am not a programmer and can not speak to it. Can you guys give me some data points to use as hard evidence? Maybe a link to a free blackberry app written by some kid that is making no money on it (so there is no way he would pay 50k) and has it available for download.

Or maybe an explanation on how to do it so I can copy and paste it and send it to them?

Or maybe a bunch of people volunteering to do it for a few hundred dollars (hopefully it really isnt complicated and I am correct here)

I just feel like our marketing department made up that 50k figure.

Would it cost a lot of money to get an clickable icon to take you to a link on iphone? The goal was to get this "app" on both iphone and blackberry
    08-11-11 08:01 PM
    If you want, you can visit vworker.com and post what you're looking for there. You will find a lot of people willing to do for various amounts of money.

I've used this website to hire people to work on my website since I have no coding experience, boy did they do a good job!

$50,000 is a BIG BS! Impossible.
    08-11-11 08:07 PM
    If you want, you can visit vworker.com and post what you're looking for there. You will find a lot of people willing to do for various amounts of money.