Just curious what people envision as their next smartphone purchase and why they are going that route?
    I've been using a BlackBerry for five years now (first the Pearl 8130 and now the Tour 9630). I've been looking to upgrade my phone but I haven't seen a BB worthy of upgrading to especially on my carrier (Verizon).
    I can't see myself going to an iPhone so I've been seriously considering looking toward the Android phones.
    The biggest issues I have with BB is the lack of quality phones available at my carrier and the poor browser / app experience I've had overall. There seems to be very little developer support for BB. Every interest I have I always see there is an app available for iPhone or Android and very rarely for BlackBerry. The apps I do see for BB are usually more expensive than their counterparts on other smartphones and have less functionality and less appealing to the eye (i.e. Facebook).
    BlackBerry does a few things extremely well like their push notifications, email and BlackBerry Messenger. BBM is become less useful to me since less than two out of every ten people I know even own a BlackBerry. Instead I just use it to communicate with my wife these days and use a cross platform messenger (LiveProfile) for everyone else.

I am interested in hearing thoughtful responses about what you see for the future and what smartphone you think you will choose and why.
    Please refrain from the typical fanboy/loyalist responses and I'd rather not hear RIM hater responses either. I am at a real crossroads here.
    Thank you in advance for taking the time to respond.
    Last edited by DrewDT; 06-17-11 at 09:05 AM. Reason: spelling typos
    AbuYazeedUK likes this.
    06-17-11 08:45 AM