I'm a student and I wanna buy a bb playbook for reading ebooks, lecture slides and browsing. My laptop is really noisy so I don't feel comfortable taking it to the library. With all the negative reviews that the playbook has been having and the problems that RIM is having with staying competitive is it really worth it to get the playbook? I've tried it out at bestbuy and I think I like it but I'm worried about spending $499.99 and not getting updates in the future if the tablet fails.
    06-16-11 05:13 PM
    No Kindle or Nook app so i don't know how many ebooks you'll be reading on Kobo.
    06-16-11 05:14 PM
    No Kindle or Nook app so i don't know how many ebooks you'll be reading on Kobo.
    Hopefully we can add a "Yet"' to that. I love playbook and one of it's biggest fans but honestly for taking notes you may find it difficult to type on a virtual keyboard, especially when it pops up and covers a good portion of the screen. You could get a bluetooth keyboard however. I would prefer a wider aspect ratio screen for general reading and browsing but the size is perfect..

I wouldn't worry about it failing - it got some initial high profile bad reviews by people that aren't really technical and just went by first impressions, but also it seems to be out doing other pads other than of course, the ipad.

Three weeks ago when I got mine. I may not have recommended it, but two OS updates have made it highly functional.
    Last edited by blackjack93117; 06-16-11 at 05:23 PM.
    06-16-11 05:18 PM
    Some would say not. Other would swear by it. For your requirements you outlined I would say it would be perfect. Reading through these forums you should be able to make a well informed choice as to whether or not you be truly happy with the device.