As luck would have it i was playing with a newly purchased Asus Transformer until 2 AM last night when the PB 1.05 update dropped, needless to say, not much sleep last night but it was good timing to compare the two new versions.

This is my first time every using Android beyond playing with a Tab at the local vzw store. It's got some nice features but i was stunned to see how rough on the edges Honeycomb is. Again only a few hours and most of it downloading apps and configuring the machine but i am much more optimistic about the Playbook after a full day comparing the two systems. I don't game and i am mostly looking at the tablets, including iPads for business use - specifically using for commercial real estate - for use in the field with clients and gathering information, photos, in the field.

Although there are a ton more apps for Android than Blackberry the tablet focused android apps are not all that robust in the Android Marketplace. I don't think having the ability to utilize Android apps on PB will be all that groundbreaking for most business users, perhaps the sheer mass of developers and corporations publishing for the scale of the Android install-base will prove me wrong but there really is not all that much useful or interesting in the AM that doesn't have a similar app on PB.

Mail is ok on Honeycomb but not great, obvious things like auto spell check/correct, split keyboard options are great and it is inexcusable that RIM didn't ship with the basics like this but the overall experience was NOT better.

It is incredibly frustrating that Android doesn't do calendaring and contacts off an exchange server - total fail to have to route everything through the googleplex if you want a seamless cross device experience. (see edit below - thanks howarmat)