Hey cbs,
    I just got my first bb, (9300) and I was wondering.
    An OS at its a core is an interface between hardware and user. So, like a laptop/pc, there could be a possibility of switcing OSs.
    Not only bbs running on androids...but htcs on bb os6 and all.

I do realize some hardware (camera,screen,keys etc) might stop responding, the kind of experts I have seen at cb will be sure to find a workaround.

Since I'm fairly new to bb's (and don't wanna brick my 1st one only ), any willing to experiment with this and post?

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    03-04-11 01:31 PM
    not gonna happen. blackberry hardware is "SO" tied into the software that even the same os from two different devices will not work the same. the only way around that is to get some reverse engineering software directly from RIM. and if you get a hold of that software, expect a knock at your door from RIM's lawyers.
    03-04-11 03:00 PM
    But still, noo matter how 'tied' it is, it is ultimately an installed file on phone's memory. That's why it pops up in the application manager. If you can delete appworld,bbm etd I'm sure this is (atleast theoretically a possibility)

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    03-04-11 10:40 PM
    "Theoretically" is the key word here.
    Off course, how detailed and practical is your theory is another issue.

Very broadly speaking, yes its possible given infinite resources and access to everything that RIM & Google have.

But practically, its difficult to even build a hybrid from RIM's own OS's leave apart from another OS.

Besides, unlike PCs which are all x86 based, ARM devices are quite different from one another. Think of it as the earlier MACs (non intel) where it would be very impractical to run windows (unless you got the source to edit & compile ! - and the resources and knowledge to do that)

So, short answer remains - NOOOO
    03-05-11 12:42 AM