Please help guys. I've never done something like this before.

My phone came with .246 installed.

In the instructions (which I saved), someone wrote:
    Uninstall any previous OS from your PC.

I don't think I have any OS on my PC, I only have BB Desktop.

???

2-
    Will it be necessary to do a battery-pull? I have a hard casing attached to my phone.
    02-16-11 05:22 PM
    If you don't have a previous Blackberry OS installed on your PC, then you are ready to go. To make sure just go to control panel > add/remove programs and you should see something like Blackberry Device Software. If its not there then you can start your install. Just remember to delet the vendor.xml

It is not always necessary to do a battery pull. Just highly recommended as it can help the OS settle faster on the device. I find that I usually have some sort of errors if I don't do a battery pull
    02-16-11 05:24 PM
    I do have Blackberry Device Software installed. Ok then.
    02-16-11 05:29 PM
    i THINK i MIGHT HAVE SCREWED UP. i'M UNINSTALLING EVERYTHING, DOES THAT MEAN i LOSE MY BACKUP FILE?
    02-16-11 05:38 PM
    No, the backup files are on the PC and are never deleted when reinstalling a device.
    02-16-11 05:43 PM
    Whew. Thanks.
    02-16-11 05:45 PM
    Should I wipe my BB clean before installing new OS??
    02-16-11 05:54 PM
    Not necessary. DM and /or Apploader wipe it as part of the process.
    02-16-11 05:57 PM
    Thanks pmc

Here is the next instruction:

Go through any 3rd party apps that have option to save settings to media card, and conduct Backup to media card from menu within each of these apps.

How do I do this?
    02-16-11 05:59 PM
    If you have any apps installed that have custom user/device settings (in their own options) and you are worried about having those settings restored, then you have to go through each app and back it up on the media card. not all apps give the option to save to a media card.