I am a soldier serving in Afghanistan. I recently bought a verison Blackberry tour 9630 from another soldier. It was desplaying app error 523 reset. I could not get anything to work till I downloaded that JL Cmandr. now it wont shut off or reboot. I cant hook my computer to the internet here or hook the phone to this computer. I dont know if the blackberry program I downloaded is the right one but it wont reload the device. I am naive concerning electronics and would like to buy a startup disk from someone with a full set of ***** proof instructions to get it up again. I want to be able to text and make calls on the device using the Roshan sim card and service avallible here. If anyone could make that up I would buy it from them and pay the shipping.
    A SOLDIER WHO WANTS TO CALL HOME MORE OFTEN!
    01-14-11 05:56 PM
    what happens when you do a battery pull? (Remove and replace battery)?
    01-15-11 11:34 AM
    Do you have access to a PC running Windows that you can connect the phone to via USB? If you do I could burn a CD with the most current OS for your phone and send it to you with instructions on how to reload the OS.
    01-15-11 11:57 AM
    Bump for a service member!!!!
    01-15-11 12:12 PM

If you could use a jump drive or disk, you could transfer the BBOS to your computer from the military computer you're using. I take it that's what you are trying to do, or they won't let you do? I was trying to figure out how you downloaded JL Cmdr to use. Folks here would be glad to help you get up and running some way or another.

Don't worry about being inexperienced, almost everyone started new. I'd burn you a disc, but don't have access on the road. You could PM anyone that can with contact information. Pb, thanks for stepping up on the disc offer.

Slick, thank you for your service. Stay in touch, and we're here for ya.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    Last edited by BergerKing; 01-15-11 at 09:05 PM.
    01-15-11 12:28 PM