I just got the Curve from Verizon which I am loving!!! But I'm a grad student and I'm not sure I'll be able to afford the data plan every month (but I want to keep my curve). If I cancel the data plan will my Curve still work as a phone? It should right? I know that BB are made to have data plans and many CB users feel that they're useless without data plans and I will go back to having one once I'm finished with school next year but right now the budget is tight.
    07-11-08 09:27 AM
    Yep, you can use it without data. Verizon might hassle you about it as some reps push data plans big time, but you don't have to get a data plan. Just make sure to tell Verizon to put a data block on your account so if your phone does happen to wonder online it won't be able to connect at all.
    07-11-08 09:30 AM
    You have to have the data plan. I am a sales rep there and the BB's won't activate without a plan. The other pda's can have it without it, but not the BB's.

C

VZW employee
    07-11-08 09:32 AM
    You have to have the data plan. I am a sales rep there and the BB's won't activate without a plan. The other pda's can have it without it, but not the BB's.

C

VZW employee
    You said you must activate it with a Data plan, but once its activated can you block it?
    07-11-08 11:02 AM
    You said you must activate it with a Data plan, but once its activated can you block it?
    You could block or turn off Data Services thru the Manage Connections icon. But then you would be paying for a service you don't use. I do turn mine off in the country because the cell towers are 50 miles away, add it kills my battery life in no time.

I may turn it on a few times a days to get my emails or use CB, Viigo or Weathereye.

I find it odd that a Data plan would mandatory to activate the cell aspect of the BB. A data/email plan is required to activate the BIS account, but if it's not needed, what's the problem.