All,

I am a seasoned BlackBerry Veteran and have been using just about every type of smart-phone since their inception. I have recently moved from a Bold 9000 to a new Storm 9550 which I bought on eBay from a Verizon user in the USA (I am from Australia). With the 9000 I had absolutely no issue using the Desktop Manager and connecting the 9000 as an IP modem. I have since transferred all my settings and data to the Storm 9550 and trying to use it as an IP Modem (via USB Cable as the DM does not support IP Modem over BT). Whenever I am just about to connect I get a dialogue box saying:

"The connected device is currently in global roaming mode and Blackberry Desktop Manager cannot start an IP Modem connection with the selected settings profile. Select a different profile or contact your wireless service provider to ask about global roaming support"

I am currently on the Optus network and I am using the built in profile for the Optus network which has served me well over the past year. The phone is currently NOT set to Global mode in the Mobile options but is locked to UMTS. I have trawled the web over the last couple of weeks for answers but cannot find any. Its driving me mad. I have tested putting my SIM into a BlackBerry 8100 using the exact same settings and it works fine which leads me to believe there is something on the phone that I am missing. I have also tried my 9550 on my home PC and I get the same error. over the last two weeks I have managed to get the 9550 to connect once without the error and allowed my to surf without issue.

Any help on this would be appreciated .
    04-09-10 01:03 AM