All,

My Blackberry days are over, and here's why.

I am still a newbie to the forums, and as promised, my Droid arrived today at about 6 PM EST.

Took the darn thing out of the box to make sure it didn't slip out of my hands like some of you , then proceeded to self activation. Easy as pie, linked up with my Google accounts, etc. As soon as the accounts are done, got a notification telling me 2.1 OTA is here!

I was a bit skpetical about this update as I've read some horror stories on here, but proceeded anyways. Update took about 3-4 minutes including the restart. This is god-like coming from a Blackberry user. Updates on Blackberries can take up to 2 hours!

I checked the phone for 'defects' as people suggested. IE: loose screen, keyboard, prox. sensor, etc. Turns out everything checks out, and I have a happy Droid!

I at first was really bad with the touch-screen keyboard, but refused to use the physical keyboard because I know this will probably be the last phone running Android with one. Might as well start early! After a few hours of usage, I got quite good, but the only thing I don't recommend is trying to type while walking.

My personal e-mail is with gmail, so I get it with about 40 seconds delay from the actual send time. My school e-mail, however, is not with gmail directly, but on a Google platform. After a few e-mail tests, turns out the arrival rate is pretty much the same as gmail. Very happy about this, but still am getting use to the e-mail system.

All in all, I am a very happy customer, and glad I made the switch. Now, if you forgive me, I have a few questions.

1. Is there a way to avoid seeing my complete inbox that is sitting in my mailbox? IE, like Blackberry, only new mail are retrieved from the servers, rather than seeing about 2,000 messages?

2. Is there a way to delete market search history?

3. What are some live-wall paper recommendations? I am loving this option, and have not seen a performance change.