A friend of mine recently upgraded their bold 9000 to a 9700. Having no need for the 9000, he sold it to me for $60. I do not have att, but i would like to activate the phone and use it without having to go into a contract. So basically what i am wondering is if there is a month to month att plan with blackberry data?

thanks for all the help.
    01-17-10 04:05 AM
    Technically, NO. However I have heard that if you go into a store and are firm with this, you can get a month to month plan with BB data.
    01-17-10 08:14 AM
    Technically, NO. However I have heard that if you go into a store and are firm with this, you can get a month to month plan with BB data.
    I am new to ATT and last week walked out with a 9700 and a data only BB plan. At first they said they don't do that but then another guy jumped in and said they could. I did however purchase a phone that day instead of using my own so I am not sure if that makes a difference or not. I am a month to month contract and can cancel anytime. Just call a corporate store near you and ask. I paid 350 for the phone outright to avoid the contract.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    01-17-10 03:10 PM
    As long as you are either bringing in your own device, OR paying full retail for one, there is no contract. If you sight up at the store, the manager will need to put in an override code to remove the contract if it is automatically generated.

01-18-10 08:33 AM
    I am new to ATT and last week walked out with a 9700 and a data only BB plan. At first they said they don't do that but then another guy jumped in and said they could. I did however purchase a phone that day instead of using my own so I am not sure if that makes a difference or not. I am a month to month contract and can cancel anytime. Just call a corporate store near you and ask. I paid 350 for the phone outright to avoid the contract.
    oh wow. thats interesting. how much do you pay monthly?
    01-19-10 11:26 AM