I'm new to the BB world (best device I've ever had, btw), but I've got a question that might seem silly, but bear with me.

I typically use my cell phones as an alarm clock and continue to do so now that I've got the BB. In the past, though, I've had problems with other devices acting weird after a year or so because I never turned them off at night. I would just stick them on the charger and unplug them the next morning.

That being said, is there a thought that turning the BB off at night might extend it's serviceable lifespan? You know, by giving it a "rest"? I'm really just looking for opinions on this.

I've also noticed that the alarm that comes with the BB Curve 8330 doesn't seem to have an option to "turn on the device" if it's turned off when it's time for the alarm to go off. I haven't tested it, obviously, but does anyone know if I have an alarm set and the device is off, if it will wake itself up so the alarm can sound?

This is a GREAT forum and seems to be full of really helpful (and nice) people! Thanks in advance for any help or opinions!
    11-19-09 10:14 PM
    What I do is I plug my Curve into my charging dock all night and let it be my alarm clock in the morning. I have been doing this since April and have yet to notice any ill effects on my battery.

For what its worth, most batteries have issues after a year but then again most devices batteries work differently than the BB. A lot of them can be overcharged. The Curve knows when to stop charging.

I don't believe it'll turn itself on to give you an alarm but there is no need to ever turn it off apart from the occasional battery pull or reboot I find.
    11-19-09 10:19 PM
    I wouldn't be terribly worried about turning it off at night. There are people still running 7000 series BBs that are working just fine. Saw 4 of 'em at a receiver earlier today, still going strong.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    11-19-09 10:27 PM