Has anyone whose Storm is connected to a corporate BES done these unofficial OS upgrades? Anything specific to BES that I need to know about before I try it? Does it usually "just work" after you're done?
    09-30-09 12:04 PM
    I have BES and have updated to many unofficial OS. For me, I just have to have the Admin reset my password when I go to reactivate BES. I haven't tried yet with any 5.0 OS, but I might today.
    09-30-09 12:20 PM
    I'm a BES admin and I am running 5.0.0.230 on my storm right now. Works just fine. If you upgrade your OS from a computer that has the desktop manager on it (connected to your BES server) it will re activate it self and all will be fine.
    09-30-09 12:26 PM
    If you upgrade your OS from a computer that has the desktop manager on it (connected to your BES server) it will re activate it self and all will be fine.
    I do this each time I update so, I don't need to contact IT to reactivate.
    09-30-09 12:30 PM
    I'm a BES admin and I am running 5.0.0.230 on my storm right now. Works just fine. If you upgrade your OS from a computer that has the desktop manager on it (connected to your BES server) it will re activate it self and all will be fine.
    I'm considering helping a friend with this. What if we skip the desktop manager method and just use app loader? Will it reactivate itself in the same way? The computer we would be using is connected to the BES server.
    09-30-09 12:31 PM
    I'm considering helping a friend with this. What if we skip the desktop manager method and just use app loader? Will it reactivate itself in the same way? The computer we would be using is connected to the BES server.
    in my experience no. the user will have to call his/her BES admin and get teh password reset and reactivate the phone.

You can try doing the upgrade then connecting it to the DM and see if it reactivates, but i don't think it will
    09-30-09 12:37 PM