Hey guys,

I've had my Blackberry 8800 for 2-ish years now, and being a fan of technology, I'm always keeping a ear to the ground for the next upgrade, whenever that is.

Trouble is, as owners of the 88xx series know, this phone is built like a TANK, with great battery life to boot. It'd be hard to move on, but I've kept an eye on the Pre since its official announcement, as I've never used a Palm device before, and have a friend that had raved constantly about how they make devices that just make sense, and work as you'd think it might work.

As you all well know, the complaints about the Pre are almost overwhelming, especially on a BB forum such as this one. Bell just recently released the phone here in Canada, so I thought I'd give 'er a try, try to cut past the myths, and give it a fair shake (as far as first impressions are concerned) at a cell phone kiosk I just visited.

Color me impressed.

Keyboard: One of the main complaints about the Pre are leveled as its chiclet-like keys on the keyboard, and due to their size/positions, it can make typing difficult.

Now, clearly, while I have not done any long term typing/testing in this regard, I was impressed from the get-go. I opened up the SMS and Memo applications, and was typing away like I was typing on my trusty 8800 keyboard. Some things were noticably missing, like the double-spacebar for a period and the automatic capitalization of your next letter, but a dedicated period button is an absolutely FINE consolation in its place.

Few mistakes, and the typing speed mirrored my own abilites on the 8800, and I had never typed on the Pre's keyboard before.

As for comfort, I LOVED the rubberized keys, they truly do provide some give/comfort and grip as you're typing away. While there isn't A LOT of spacing between the keys, there's none on the 88xx series, so this was something I got used to right away.