Repost from 8830 forum:

Hi guys and gals,

I'm running OS 4.5.0.135 (the Sprint offical release) on my VZW 8830. I downloaded the Curve version of SPM OTA on my 8830 (xttp://download.slingmedia.com/player/mobile/bbbeta503/US/SlingPlayer_def_EN_US.jad). I'm a noob and can't post "real" urls.

It works! I am soooo happy! I was thinking of giving in and buying the Storm, even though my hands on experience with the 9530 left me cold. I want the upcoming Niagra (9630). I just like the physical keyboard, so I am very happy to have access to my Slingbox while waiting for the new phone.

Thank you to the Storm owners who first got this "hack" working on the 9530. Thank you to Sling Media for making such a great product (and not blocking use of SPM on "unsupported" BBs). Thank you to RIM for continuing to support the 8830. Thank you to VZW for not blocking this app (and FINALLY allowing us to use the phone's GPS--even if it only works for BB Maps).

FWIW: I'm connecting to a Slingbox Solo.

I hope this help my fellow 8830 holdouts!

Postflight
    03-13-09 08:09 PM
    Good news! Hopefully they've found a way to make it compatible for the 8330 also.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    03-14-09 12:30 AM
    Just checked the slingmedia forums & it seems as though slingplayer should be a go as long as the OS your running is .135 or higher. I can't wait for our next OS update!

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    03-14-09 12:44 AM
    I am running .131 and it is still a no go. .138 is out there.
    03-14-09 09:14 AM
    Good news! Hopefully they've found a way to make it compatible for the 8330 also.
    This from what I posted on SC...