FIRST Let me start of by saying if the word Iphone is going to be used in your post. DONT POST. You can use terms like "Other Manufacturer" or "Competitors" if you have useless posts. BUT if you NEED to use the word, use it to explain why that part of the OS alows them to thread there text and how it would benefit us. If not, I dont see how it would be usefull.

Now that that is over with. I started this thread but it didnt stick..

http://forums.crackberry.com/f134/ca...r-3jam-169726/

There are a few different threaded sms apps for BB's out there (I think). But all may not be storm compatable. I am new to BB's so I would like to use this thread for all the facts about threaded sms and BB's.

Here are the issues that I have found most of the 3rd party apps have with the blackberry.

The ONLY major issue with these apps are when you get a new sms. You get a new message icon in the origional bb sms app. Although you are trying to use your 3rd party app as your "Primary" sms app, you still have to go back and clear all your new messages out of your origional bb sms app. OR you (I) are stuck with hundreds of "new" messages in the new message counter at the top of the screen.

I know we could dissable the.

-New message alert Icon.
    -New message counter.

BUT you lose all your new message alerts SYSTEM WIDE!

What are we going to do about this??? I know there are many others out there that cant stand the BB sms either.. I would like to not use the BB sms app at all and only use a 3rd party app.

Is there ANY ONE out there that knows how we can either

-Tweak the BB to make the origional sms not alert new messages?
    -Make an app that blocks sms to the origional sms?
    -Remove the sms/ mms app BUT still alow mms to show up in the "messages" folder?

Threaded SMS apps

3JAM

3jam Reply-All Text Messaging (BlackBerry) - Free software downloads and reviews - CNET Download.com

Here is what I have found out while on trial period.