Hi all, First post. New addict. Looking to see in anyone has advice for keeping costs down when going out of country.

I'm going on a cruise to Jamaica, Grand Cayman, Cozumel in a while. woohoo! I talked to a verizon customer support person. Sounds like it's around 1.50 to 2.50 per minute there, if it works at all. Then another 2.50 or so per megabyte for the data.

Do you have any advice? I have NO experience roaming. I was thinking of just putting the battery "in" when needed to make a call, because I didn't want to rack up megabyte charges. Was mostly going to use my pearl as a phone during this period. However, I was guessing that email probably doesn't really suck up the megabytes.

Have you gone outside the country? How did you handle it, and how much did VZW ding you for? Thanks for any advice!
    01-18-08 04:15 PM
    I just got back from a cruise yesterday and did not use the phone, but got all my text, IM's and emails. I'm trying find out if there are any fees for this. I actually didn't reply to anything out of fear! I have unlimited data on my phone. For the most part you won't have any service. Let me know if you find out anything. PS - I went to Grand Cayman and Mexico. The weather was divine! Have a great trip.
    01-25-08 12:16 PM
    I'd be interested to hear how much that set you back! I've tried texting "#min" which I thought is supposed to send me back information on how many minutes I've used. Thought maybe it would give me an idea on how much data I've used too. But I get no reply, maybe that's just for regular cell phones.

I'm also interested in turning the pearl phone and data off during flights so my little rascal can watch movies on the plane. I see this thread which would work, but not on the pearl. I can't post urls yet: /f33/how-disable-phone-international-email-use-only-13748/

Anybody know how to turn off the data/voice to allow movie watching on an airplane?

Anybody know how to check data usage?