I used some information out of this thread in this forum and some from another forum but finally got my Blackberry Bold to work as a modem using AT&T as my service provider on Windows Vista platform.

I'm a first time forum writer but I wouldn't have been able to get mine to work w/o insight from people on these forums so I am detailing how I got mine to work. Hope it helps!

1.If you have not already, download and install the Blackberry Desktop Software.
    2.Go to the Windows Device manager. Quickest way: Start > Run > devmgmt.msc
    3.Click + button next to Modems, double click �Standard Modem�
    4.Click the Advanced tab
    5.Enter this into the empty box (no leading space):
    AT+CGDCONT=1,�IP�,�wap.cingular�
    6.Hit Okay, and close device manager.

Also, then
    1 From your computer, click Start, Control Panel, then Network and Sharing Center.
    2 Set up a connection or a net work then Next.
    3 Select Set up dial up connection.
    4 Select the Standard Modem, then Next.
    5 Enter this as the phone number: *99# �> Next
    6 Enter user name (ALL CAPS): ISP@CINGULARGPRS (after GPRS, put .COM) forum wouldn't let me post a website address
    7 Enter and confirm password (ALL CAPS): CINGULAR1 �> Next/Finish
    8 Open the desktop manager and plug in your Blackberry via the USB cable. Make sure it detects the Blackberry as connected.
    9 Go back to your network connections window (step 7), and double click the new ATT Dialup icon.
    10 Your password, username, and dialup number should already be saved. If it�s not, just follow lines 6 and 7 above again. Then just click �Dial�
    01-18-09 03:35 PM
    Thanks for sharing, I'm sure this will be a big help to people.
    01-18-09 03:40 PM
    Hers a sorter easier and less confusing way:
    All you need is AT&T communication manager, plug in your Bold and press connect and your tethered.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    01-18-09 05:16 PM