I'm somewhat new to blackberrys, and i tried to search around but couldn't find the answer...

Is it possible to send an SMS text over 180 characters? I know with my old phones, it would just send them as multiple messages tied together, so i could send a message over 180 characters to another Verizon phone.
    01-09-09 01:11 PM
    Sorry but no it isnt people have been complaining about, and I dont care for it either. You can send a MMS or email if you need to type more characters. Welcome to CB.
    01-09-09 01:16 PM
    Fairly new myself to CB and blackberry's all together. What i've learned is that there is no way to type a text msg over 180 char. long. Sorry..... i guess just call the person or send it as e-mail if the other person carries the web.
    01-09-09 01:17 PM
    I don't want to be nit-picky or rude, however, did you actually search or are you just saying you searched?

Because I just did a simple search involving the exact words of your subject ("sms text size"), nothing more, and the 11th search result revealed this very informative thread:

http://forums.crackberry.com/f86/sms...=sms+text+size

There are some topics where searching is a complicated process involving a lot of carefully executed keywords....but most, like this one, involve just putting the subject line into the search box and seeing what pops up. You should have done that.
    01-09-09 01:18 PM
    I did do that - thanks for being rude about it to a new user.

Searching for "SMS Text" did not bring up what I was looking for, and forums generally have bad search engines when typing in more than 1 or 2 keywords (I'm a mod on a car forum, and we get it all the time).

Thanks Brothamoveson for the helpful response.
    01-09-09 01:22 PM
    I don't want to be nit-picky or rude, however, did you actually search or are you just saying you searched?