Hi there,
    After using BlackBerry OS and BlackBerry 10 for a long time, I'd like to give the android Priv a try when I can renew my carrier contract the 17th of July. Since I have had little to no experience with android (the experience I had was mostly annoyance due to the poor flow of the OS)

So, after my mom got the S6 edge I borrowed her S4 and started to figure out how it works. First I installed Nova Launcher because the TouchWizz interface bothered me. And tried to get rid of as many google related apps on the phone since there are many other apps that to the same. I prefer having a few companies know a little about me, instead of one knowing everything.

Now, how do I setup the Priv the first time? Before doing anything I think it's wise to update to marshmallow, but should I go with OTA or autoloader?
    Second, does it compromise the OS if you disable as much google apps as possible except the play services and play store (nothing systemwise, just apps like maps, gmail etc).. I've read about this in a topic about the priv.
    Third, if I install Nova on the Priv, do I still have the advantage of the productivity tab and the ''swipe gesture'' to enter the hub via the home button?

I hope you guys can provide me some info about this, I just want to give the Priv a decent try. If it doesn't suit my needs I still got my Passport OG, SE and a few more other BlackBerry phones so I'll be fine anyways. The thing that really got me to the point of switching was WhatsApp.. unfortunately I can't get everyone on BBM. So thanks in advance

Grtz Erik

BlackBerry Passport Silver Edition 
    05-24-16 04:21 PM
    A Google Account is required for BlackBerry's Android equivalent of BlackBerry Protect and anti-theft. It also helps with restoring your device, as settings are saved in the cloud (somewhat like BlackBerry Protect on BBOS).

I've never had an issue with OTA updates. This thing flies.