OK, I just bought a bold on AT&T and I am very disappointed. I have three very basic requirements for a phone, access to my IMAP mail servers (I don't have BES and won't have BES, BIS downloading from mail server is not a good solution), SSH Client and a decent browser, that's it. I have been using the Nokia E70 for the last 2 years, which i love (the hardware that is, the software has too many bugs to list making the phone virtually unusable).

So, after struggling to find a phone to replace my E70, reading this site every day and others, I got the bold. I was shocked to find that there is no IMAP support, come on it's 2008. I donwloaded logicmail and it is far from being usable as a primary mail application (Tiggit wouldn't install). I downloaded MidPSSH and again, far from bein a usuable application. The browser on the bold is fine.

So, someone please set me straight as to why I should keep this thing. The hardware is great, but so is my E70, but the software, at least for me is from 1995.

I'm really stuck, need a new phone but can't find a good solution to meet my very basic needs.
    11-28-08 11:07 PM
    A forum search for IMAP turned up this thread, among many others: http://forums.crackberry.com/f86/sol...-email-101650/

Perhaps it will help. I've never used IMAP.
    11-28-08 11:24 PM
    Unfortunately that just enables the BIS server to access your mail via IMAP, but doesn't give you access to your IMAP server.

I got tiggit working, it's better than logicmail , but I am seeing lots of bugs.
    11-28-08 11:46 PM
    I Googled "BlackBerry IMAP" and found at least a dozen articles that state you can indeed set up your BB for IMAP access.

Beyond the Bleeding Edge: Blackberry: How to get Push IMAP Gmail if you are on BIS.

For example.
    Hope it works for you.