We have a summer home in a sort of condo association kind of thing. The community has free WiFi network we can use. I have a linksys WRT54G wireless router on my home network. Is it possible to configure it to connect to the WiFi network rather than getting the internet from a wire connected to a DSL/cable modem like we do here at home? I'd like to try out accessing the internet while I'm at the summer home but the only WiFi device I have is the router everything else is wired to it. I'd like to avoid buying a WiFi card for my old laptop since this is only a testing senario to see if it is high enough quality to use things like netflix instant watch or whatever. I'm clueless when it comes to wireless networking. And I have limited knowledge on wired networking. i know enough to troubleshoot basic problems and configure basic things but i definitely would not call myself an advanced user in reference to networking. I know many people here are quite knowledgeable on many topics so I figure this is as good a place as any to explain what I will need to do.
    10-02-08 09:12 AM
    Quit being cheap...get a new laptop

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    10-02-08 09:28 AM
    Look for a device called Ruckus... It will do exactly what you want and is used in metro WiFi installations as the client side device to connect to local WiFi like your association is providing. It then rebroadcasts that signal inside your home just like the WRT54G would do if connected to the internet. Last time I bought these they were about $100 each.
    10-02-08 09:31 AM
    He doesn't have a wireless card, that won't work trucky...the only way your going to snag that free wifi is if you use a wireless router, and run an ethernet cable from the laptop to the router

10-02-08 09:33 AM