Hey all. I'm a bit bummed right now. I got passed over for a promotion yet again. I work as a conference call facilitator & I had applied to be an assistant trainer. I have some experience in training & a Master's degree in Organizational Development that my company mostly paid for. I've been with this company for 4.5 years & I've applied for verious training & HR positions only to be passed over every time. Every time I hear the same thing - I don't have ENOUGH experience. How the heck can I gain more experience if I'm never given a chance????? I'm 30 years old, & I feel that my career opportunities are already becoming limited. I already volunteer for side projects to serve as resume boosters, but what more can I do? I have a feeling I don't interview very well, but I don't really know how I can improve on that, save for knowing the interview questions ahead of time & really giving thought out & detailed answers. I try to guess at some of the questions & I try to rehearse my answers out loud, as well. What else am I missing??? I don't know when the next opportunity will come around, but I feel I need to do SOMETHING in the meantime to try to give myself an edge.

Thanks in advance for any advice.
    12-18-09 12:33 PM
    I feel for you man, I recently got passed up for a promotion at my job for some very stupid reasons but I'll spare you the story.

I don't really know what advice to give you except keep trying (if you're set on working for that company) or quit. If you're not valuable enough to the company to keep you happy in some respect, you should leave. I understand that's not the easiest thing to do but you gotta look out for #1 above all else.

Good luck with your future endeavours.
    12-18-09 12:55 PM
    Break down what you do in an Interview

How do you Dress.
    also how do you Dress as work, do you always present yourself well, trying to gain within a company can be hard because of your day to day look.