During my free time (when i dont have to worry about upcoming exams and stuff) im going to try and learn a programming language and develop my first app for the playbook. I'm relatively new to programming, i have done the some for my A-level coursework but this was only using pascal.

I was wondering what you guys would like to see in an app and ill try see if i can make it happen for you guys
    03-22-12 03:38 PM
    For your first app, I highly recommend making a basic utility app. Something niche with limited features.
    03-22-12 03:40 PM
    You're throwing yourself to the wolves here I agree with the previous poster, keep it simple and create a basic app with not too many flashy features. I'm a firm believer in covering your bases. Start out slow and simple and take your time to learn the tools you'll use, you'll end up being a much better developer in the end. THEN bring on the flashy amazing powerapps
    sturgie likes this.
    03-22-12 03:45 PM
    sorry to hijack your thread, but i would like to ask what would be the best language to pick up if i want to develop future BB10 apps. I have no backgroud in I have a bit of time on my hand, would like to learn about how to start developing.
    03-22-12 03:57 PM
    sorry to hijack your thread, but i would like to ask what would be the best language to pick up if i want to develop future BB10 apps. I have no backgroud in I have a bit of time on my hand, would like to learn about how to start developing.
    You can develop in C++ or in HTML, JavaScript etc. (i.e. web technologies). Depending on whether you see either being more use in your everyday life may affect your choice. Personally I find HTML+JS easier, but it's also much more limited. If you want to make top quality apps, you should probably go for C++.
    03-22-12 04:04 PM
    I'm going to try learn C++ as I've heard from a friend that it's bets for game development. (he's a game developer himself)
    03-22-12 04:05 PM