Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By peter9477
    CrackBerry Abuser

PIN
    32447A6C
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

Default To the playbook app developers out there.

Where did you begin? I have the simulator and NDK running, but if I am making a utility based app, am I better off using Flash Designer and AIR?

I have 5+ years experience in C, C++, python, and the .NETs. I will be able to pick whatever up no problem.

That being said -- are there any app teams looking for a hand? I would like to get more involved in the community.
    CrackBerry Genius of Geniuses

Global Posts
    5,218 Global Posts

You might want to start by exploring the developer support forums since there's really a lot more developers hanging out there and available to help than there are here. The traffic is lighter in most cases, but that's because there's less idle chatter, gossip-mongering, and trolling, among other things (in spite of the admirable efforts of people here to clean things up).

I wouldn't suggest ignoring either venue, however, which is why I hang out here.

If you've got lots of experience using C/C++ you should consider the NDK rather than the AIR stuff, though if you think you'd be comfortable with ActionScript3 (much like Javascript with static typing) it's a pretty good environment. As usual, the learning for an experienced dev is mostly in the libraries and tools, not the language.

The problem for now with the NDK is that it's lacking any UI framework, though efforts to port Qt are underway (and largely successful, as far as I know). For now, the NDK has to focus on games or other apps where they can supply the entire UI themselves. The Cascades UI framework is close to entering beta (closed at first, then open, same as NDK had) but not quite there yet. Probably in early January.