Welcome to the CrackBerry Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
    CrackBerry Genius

Global Posts
    3,568 Global Posts
    PIN
    G PONG!
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

Default Sprint false advertising the Pre?

I just watched a commerical where Sprint was advertising the Pre.

They said "The Nations Best 3G network.. and now the nations first 4G network.. available on the Palm Pre"

Um.. Since when is the Pre 4G compatible? ITS NOT!

There will be a new Palm device coming out that IS 4G compatible, but this current Pre is not 4G compatible.
    Your lack of planning, does not warrant an emergency.

Yes, I am a BES admin.. Questions? Ask me!

Global Posts
    10,107 Global Posts
    PIN
    Changes way too often

They are reffering to their network, not to the Pre specifically. Thats their new catch line. The network is available to the Palm Pre, but that doesnt mean the Pre can use it. Just a trick of wording is all.
    ~S_A
    CrackBerry Genius

Its not, just trick wording. I never understood the point of putting them together. Either advertise the dang phone better (not 5 seconds at the end of the commercial), or stop wasting money advertising a nonexistent 4g/WIMAX network. In 2 years theyve rolled out, what, 3-5 cities total? That's not exactly impressive, first in the game or not, since 9/10ths or more of the US cant use it anyways. So why waste money on a national ad campaign for a service most cant even access? Let alone confusing people who dont know. Sprint still doesnt make sense how they do things...

And this isnt exactly the head start over LTE Sprint was promising everyone, considering VZW has LTE coming out in 2010 which is only 5 months away now and ATT on their heels. And with Sprint's poor financial situation, WIMAX rollout might be hurting even more.