Why does my 8830 show "Unknown Number" on my incoming phone calls when I already have the numbers/names programmed into my Address Book? I'm a newbie and struggling somewhat.
    11-16-08 10:54 AM
    If I remember correctly go to options>advance options>sim card>and put your number where it says phone number. See if that works. I could be wrong but I dont remember too much after last nite.
    11-16-08 11:38 AM
    Is it showing the text "unknown number" but displaying the phone number, so you're expecting the name you entered to be displayed? Or are you receiving a spam call that's not advertising caller ID data?

For the former, perhaps the numbers you have entered are only 7 digits and it's not matching them to the 10-digit number? (this is just a guess.)
    11-16-08 12:01 PM
    It could be an issue with numbers coming from a "switch".

I have "direct dial" numbers stored for some of my contacts, but they work in a large facility that has a switch that all incoming / outgoing calls go through.

When I receive a call from someone at that location, it may not recognize the number because it is technically a different "number" than the one that is stored.
    11-16-08 12:06 PM
    It could be an issue with numbers coming from a "switch".

I have "direct dial" numbers stored for some of my contacts, but they work in a large facility that has a switch that all incoming / outgoing calls go through.

When I receive a call from someone at that location, it may not recognize the number because it is technically a different "number" than the one that is stored.
    Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com

11-16-08 12:17 PM
    The calls are not coming from a switch, They origiinate from single line phones,

11-16-08 12:21 PM
    Is it showing the text "unknown number" but displaying the phone number, so you're expecting the name you entered to be displayed? Or are you receiving a spam call that's not advertising caller ID data?