I am totally new on this forum but I hope someone can help me with a really stupid question.

I always wanted a Blackberry, but never had one. Ironically, due to the negative media coverage lately about RIM, that kept RIM in my mind more than usual, and I went out and bought a Blackberry Bold 9790 last week.

Now I am totally new to the Blackberry platform and I thought all I had to do was take the SIM card out of my Android phone and put it in the Blackberry and it would work. Well I can make calls with it , send text messages with it and surf the web with the browser. But I can�t access App World, Facebook (from the app) or join the BBM.

Through a little research I found out that I need a special �Blackberry plan� to use the Blackberry features. So I went around to ask various carriers about their Blackberry plans.

One carrier I asked was selling me on a �data plan� he said that I can access all the Blackberry features. But the thing that worries me is that nowhere in the documentation he provided does it mention Blackberry. I am afraid he is just trying to sell me the same kind of plan I have now for the Android phone.

So here�s the question. If the guy wants to sell me a �data plan� and verbally tells me it�s a �blackberry plan� but I am not sure about this, I�d like him to write something on the contract when I sign it o make sure that it�s what I need. That way if it turns out to be something else, I can complain about it.

So question: What do I need him to write? �Blackberry plan�? That sounds too vague. �BIS access plan�? I�ve heard this term in relation to Blackberry but I don�t really know if it�s appropriate here. Any suggestions would be helpful.

And please�I know this is a really stupid question so if possible refrain from sarcastic remarks. Perhaps I should have researched more about it first and I fully realize this.
    07-07-12 12:48 AM
    Can you provide what country you're in and the carriers you inquired about BIS with?