So I see that only certain email attachments can be viewed on my BB Curve 8300. OK, so why can't I download any type of attached file and transfer it to my laptop so I can view it there.

If there is a way to download any attached file type and get it on my laptop please let me know. I heard this is the BB Guru forum so this should be a no-brainer.

So far I've tried changing the file extension, which sort of worked except that the phone then tried to display it and of course couldn't so the process was aborted.

I then saved the email, hoping the attachment would be saved along with it but I can't find where the email was saved. To make matters worse, the Media Manager utility only deals with, well, media, so other types of files are filtered out (even zip, which the BB lists as supporting). Is there another utility that deals with all files. I am a 3D architect, by the way, so I deal with CAD and 3D files (dcd, dwg, dxf, c4d). I am beginning to believe I am the very first architect to own a BB, since there seems to be no support for these type of files.

The help said that attachments can be automatically saved but didn't explain how. I've searched and searched but can't find how to do this. Anyone ever tried adding a media extension to a file (eg: cad_filename.dcd to cad_filename.dcd.jpg) emailing it to a BB and the receiver save it (without viewing), transferring it, via Media Manager, to another computer where the bogus extension will be removed.

Thanks in advance for any help (otherwise my precious BB gets dumped),

Larry
    10-07-08 07:24 AM
    Welcome to CrackBerry Larry.

The first consideration, you will need a media card to enable the transfer to your computer. You computer does not see your device memory.

I have just run a test using a IPD file, BlackBerry backup. The procedure is not at all intuitive.