Dear all,

I am in dire need of upgrading to a smart phone and I was hoping I could get some advice.

First, I'm on Verizon, and switching carriers is not really an option because my girlfriend and both of our families, our best friends, etc., are all Verizon. Plus I haven't had a dropped call or poor reception in years and I don't plan on starting now. That and I'm 26 and still on my mom's family plan.

I'm a part-time graduate filmmaking student and a freelance video editor. It's important to me to be able to put my short films on my phone and be able to show them to people in meetings, etc., and have them look good.

Right now I mostly work for a Japanese production company, and I'm constantly getting emails that require immediate attention that are in Japanese. Since these don't display on my non-smart phone, I usually have to drop everything and run to the nearest computer. Having a smart phone that can display Japanese -- not just in emails, but full OS integration (documents, document titles, etc.), is paramount. I'd want to be able to enter Japanese with predictive text (standard OS X feature) for email, document editing, and texting. Everyone else in the company claims that Blackberry's can't do this. They all have iPhones.

The iPhone isn't really an option for me because all my good friends who have them (I have many) say they can't type long emails due to the small keyboard. One of the major reasons I want to get a smart phone is so I can catch up on emails while riding the subway. Is writing long emails on Blackberry a comfortable experience?

For work, I am frequently dispatched on shoots. Most recently to London, next month to Japan and China. In theory I'd love to have a phone that worked here (New York), in Europe (particularly Spain), and Japan.