Hey all,

I've been trying to get my son's Blackberry Curve 8520 xmas pressie online since yesterday but cant. This is on the Orange (UK) network on Pay As You Go.

Whenever I try to open a web page in the Hotspot Browser I get about 15 seconds of "Requesting" and then the following error: "Unable to connect to the server"

I have a Belkin router which I've been using for over two years now. This services an iPod touch over WIFI, two Mac Minis and also a couple of Windows (XP/Vista) laptops - so I know the WIFI connection/Router is working well.

I've set up a WIFI connection on the Curve and specified the relevant WPA password, etc.

When I look in Manage Connections, WI-FI Connections, Saved WI-FI profiles, I see my WIFI network but with a dash "-" symbol. I'm guessing I should see a tick/check here instead.

So the Curve seems to see my network and is connected to it (I see this on the 'home' screen) but I cannot access any websites.

I've pulled the battery with the Curve on and waited 60 secs before re-inserting and resetting.

Any ideas?

Thanks,

Rod.
    ps. Merry xmas!!
    12-26-09 12:06 PM
    try going into the settings and if it has a password add the Password

Setup > set up wifi
    12-26-09 12:11 PM
    Hi Jack,

Thanks for the reply. No luck there - I've tried entering the password for my network. I've also just deleted the entire network profile from the BlackBerry and added it again taking care to specify the correct password.

No dice - I still get the error when trying to launch the browser.

I removed the SIM and rebooted just to be sure it was nothing to do with Orange - I can still access functions on the phone without the SIM in place but, unfortunately, WIFI still doesn't work.

I've did a quick google and found a few people having the same problems - but I can't see a solution!!

Rod.
    12-26-09 12:28 PM
    See if this helps.
    12-26-09 12:35 PM