Results 1 to 8 of 8
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By BergerKing
  1. Alec Munni's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    3 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

    Default WIFI Help Please!

    I have a BlackBerry Curve 9330. It's no longer used on our plan ( it has no service) but I would really like it for emails. First of all when I scan for networks mine wont come up. I know my network is working because my iphone and laptops and xbox is on it fine. When I manually set up the wifi and put my password in and all that, it says connecting..... then BOOM! the message that pisses me off comes up! It says "Failed to authenticate against the network". Someone please help me! It will be greatly appreciated. by the way i have sprint
  2. BergerKing's Avatar

    Posts
    29,785 Posts
    Global Posts
    30,967 Global Posts
    PIN
    In Semi-retirement
    #2  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Alec Munni View Post
    I have a BlackBerry Curve 9330. It's no longer used on our plan ( it has no service) but I would really like it for emails. First of all when I scan for networks mine wont come up. I know my network is working because my iphone and laptops and xbox is on it fine. When I manually set up the wifi and put my password in and all that, it says connecting..... then BOOM! the message that pisses me off comes up! It says "Failed to authenticate against the network". Someone please help me! It will be greatly appreciated. by the way i have sprint
    Pull the battery, wait 20 seconds, reinstall, and see if it will authenticate after it reboots.
    Report Button, not just for the bad things!
    Devices: SPH-A620/VGA 1000, Sanyo Katana, BlackBerry 8330, 9630, 9670, MB855 Photon, SPH-L710 Galaxy SIII. SPH-L720 Galaxy S4
    Bacon is duct tape for food!
  3. BergerKing's Avatar

    Posts
    29,785 Posts
    Global Posts
    30,967 Global Posts
    PIN
    In Semi-retirement
    #3  

    Default

    As far as emails go, you would need to access your email account via the browser, as emails are serviced via BIS, and since your device is no longer active, mail will not be pushed to the phone.
    Report Button, not just for the bad things!
    Devices: SPH-A620/VGA 1000, Sanyo Katana, BlackBerry 8330, 9630, 9670, MB855 Photon, SPH-L710 Galaxy SIII. SPH-L720 Galaxy S4
    Bacon is duct tape for food!
    southlander likes this.
  4. Alec Munni's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    3 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #4  

    Default

    Thanks for your reply. I just did what you told me too and now it says im connected but when I go to the browser it says unable to connect to the internet, please try again later. If the problem persists please contact your service provider". I have also unchecked mobile network box. But wifi box is checked and shows im connected.. Really frustrating.
  5. BergerKing's Avatar

    Posts
    29,785 Posts
    Global Posts
    30,967 Global Posts
    PIN
    In Semi-retirement
    #5  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Alec Munni View Post
    Thanks for your reply. I just did what you told me too and now it says im connected but when I go to the browser it says unable to connect to the internet, please try again later. If the problem persists please contact your service provider". I have also unchecked mobile network box. But wifi box is checked and shows im connected.. Really frustrating.
    Odd, as my old Style browses fine on Wi-Fi. I know some folks who've had to reboot their routers from time to time because an error would not allow internerlt connection, but if the other stuff is working fine, hmm.
    Report Button, not just for the bad things!
    Devices: SPH-A620/VGA 1000, Sanyo Katana, BlackBerry 8330, 9630, 9670, MB855 Photon, SPH-L710 Galaxy SIII. SPH-L720 Galaxy S4
    Bacon is duct tape for food!
  6. Alec Munni's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    3 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #6  

    Default

    Thanks for your help. I guess I will keep trying different things.

    Quote Originally Posted by BergerKing View Post
    Odd, as my old Style browses fine on Wi-Fi. I know some folks who've had to reboot their routers from time to time because an error would not allow internerlt connection, but if the other stuff is working fine, hmm.
  7. 03_CTD's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    34 Posts
    Global Posts
    142 Global Posts
    #7  

    Default WIFI Help Please!

    Native BB browser requires an active BIS account so it wouldn't work via wifi only. You will need 3rd party apps to accomplish wifi only browsing and email management.
    8310-->9700-->3GS-->Infuse 4G-->9360-->9900-->iPhone 5
  8. southlander's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius of Geniuses

    Posts
    5,930 Posts
    PIN
    32FE97BA
    #8  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 03_CTD View Post
    Native BB browser requires an active BIS account so it wouldn't work via wifi only. You will need 3rd party apps to accomplish wifi only browsing and email management.
    Try Opera Mini. It is pretty good.

Similar Threads

  1. WIFI Help please
    By jr86 in forum General BlackBerry Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-01-2010, 03:29 PM
  2. Wifi Help Please
    By boldgb in forum General BlackBerry Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-12-2010, 07:49 PM
  3. Wifi Help Please
    By boldgb in forum BlackBerry Bold 9000
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-12-2010, 07:49 PM
  4. Hidden Data Charges using home network wifi - Help Please!
    By bobbodavis in forum BlackBerry Curve 8900
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: 05-01-2009, 08:51 AM
  5. WiFi Help Please
    By Tai in forum BlackBerry Curve 83xx
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-16-2008, 10:01 AM

Posting Permissions