SOOO I am a broke college student who can't believe my dad just bought me a 8320 curve.. ( Brand new off craigslist) ... my BB 8100 circuit board went out!! I am on a fam plan and my parents will not get internet on my phone (and i understand)....
    so i was wondering is there anyway i can get internet when i am connected to a wifi with out purchasing anything from T-mobile? i am willing to download stuff or modify it... I just am not sure how it works.. i have a router in my room up here at school... if anyone knows, please let me know

or if there is a application (like a mapquest or phonebook) that will work with only a wifi connection and no purchased internet...

thanks
    Holly Jo
    11-01-08 06:25 PM
    You will need t-Mobile to add the BlackBerry enabler package, but even then the limitations that are placed on the wifi and the apps that can/cannot use will be frustrating
    11-01-08 08:50 PM
    dose that package cost?
    11-01-08 08:55 PM
    I think I'm only paying like 19.95 for unlimited internet.
    11-01-08 11:29 PM
    In theory you can browse on wifi without even having a sim card in the phone. So you should be able to browse on wi-fi without a data plan (or charges)...

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    11-02-08 12:41 AM
    I bought a 8220 and don't have a data plan (yet). Open wi-fi works. You just have to change the a setting not to use the carrier's network for wi-fi.
    11-05-08 10:17 AM
    i think i know what lovedana wanted from her cerve. if im not mistaken she want something like tzone hake like there is a programe for iphone you just pay only minimum rate plan like 4.99 and u get unlimited access thats called hake like my bro got it for his iphone. well im trying to findout my self too but no success yet. i will let every one know here if i come through anything lik that.
    11-18-08 07:10 PM
    DD and Prley are both correct!

I have been using my BB wifi for free since I bought it.