I realize that accidents happen, but it seems like many people talk casually about how often they've droppped and damaged their BBs and other cell phones. Like I said, I know it can happen, but there are a lot of people who seem to have it down to an art, and not just careless teenagers.

I've been using mobile devices/phones for around 15 years, and I can literally count on one hand the number of times I've dropped my cell phone, let alone damaged one. Am I just that OCD and overly careful, or is this a common thing?

No offense intended...I'm just intrigued. (Now watch, I'll drop and break mine today!)
    04-30-08 11:39 AM
    Because of work, I'm always running around the office & sometimes, I'll think I'm slipping it back into the holster - not looking - & drop it. I've done that like once.. but before my holster? It was like raining berries!

I'm usually better with it when I'm not at work.. unless I'm drinking. I dropped my Treo into a pitcher of beer!
    04-30-08 11:41 AM
    Fortunately, most of the heart wrenching, dropped my beloved 'berry tales have a happy ending. It nearly always works, a few scratches give it character.
    04-30-08 11:42 AM
    I'm with you, I've never damaged a cell phone (Knocking on wood right now!), but my husband has dropped/damaged a number of them! One fell out of his pocket and onto the cement street. Another went down our front steps. I have a friend who always put his phone into his pocket so it's always with him, so it's no surprise it was in his bathing suit pocket when he got into a hot tub!

I think the more you use it, and if you take it everywhere, it becomes a part of you and unless you're really in the habit of putting it in a safe place things will happen to it.
    04-30-08 11:46 AM
    I'm just horribly clumsy and constantly walking around work, putting my phone in random places. I need to learn not to hold my phone with my hand, that's when I tend to drop it.