I subscribe to VZnav and find it quite useful. I also have the keychain puck and find it equally beneficial. I am a Geologist and my Dad is an Engineer/Land Surveyor. The puck works fantastic in the woods while using bbtracker to record my path. I just hang the puck on my belt loop and go.

VZnav has actually shown me a 'backdoor' way into the Atlanta airport that I never considered. That itself was worth a year's subscription if you have ever driven I-285 in rush hour. Or should I have said parked on I-285 in rush hour!?

Oh, our Verizon store doesn't serve hummingbirds.
    08-10-08 10:16 PM
    I should also have noted that I have Google Maps, BBmaps, MS Live Search, and Gpsed. Google is such a pain to get it to recognize the puck that I really use it only for aerial photographs and info search. BBmaps is not bad but it is limited. Live Search is beta as is Gpsed. I don't use Gpsed nearly as much since I started using bbtracker. You will also note that all of these are free, at least at the moment.
    08-10-08 10:20 PM
    I may be too new to understand this thread but i have a curve through verizon and I do not have nav activated, I have google maps and it works great! From the sounds of your posts it does not work on vz phones? Or is it a certain feature on google maps that does not work?
    08-11-08 10:17 PM
    Google maps will work, it just typically won't find your location closer than a 1700-m circle. Verizon disables the internal GPS on their phones, except for use with VZNav, and in certain circumstances other apps in conjunction with VZNav.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    08-11-08 10:36 PM
    I may be too new to understand this thread but i have a curve through verizon and I do not have nav activated, I have google maps and it works great! From the sounds of your posts it does not work on vz phones? Or is it a certain feature on google maps that does not work?