Hello,

I'm completely new to Blackberry devices and I'm extremely interested in picking up the 8830 World Edition from Verizon. I'm a high school student and have been doing a lot of research and reading everything you guys have posted on this awesome forum. The main reason why I want the 8830 is because it does email (obviously), has a GPS, and works in Europe and the Caribbean. I have read that the GPS is disabled and that there is no way to enable it. I've been speaking with a Verizon representative and she said that the GPS was disabled because Verizon has no software to support it, but that third-party applications for the GPS would work. I would only get the 8830 if the GPS will work with a third-party application (such as Navizon or the Spot GPS program). The manufacturer for the maker of the Spot program says that it will work on the 8830 (even for Verizon?). So my question is, has anyone been able to get the GPS to work with any third-party applications? If I can get the GPS to work with nearly 100% certainty, than I will purchase the phone. I'm also wondering how an alternative like the Navizon triangulation software would work and how accurate it is compared to GPS. I know that there is another thread for this, but I didn't want to ask another question in someone else's thread. However, if you feel that this should be merged with the other thread, please feel free to do so. Thanks in advance!
    06-08-07 06:34 PM
    Welcome to CrackBerry.com

As you know, this is a very heated topic, and am sure a few members will chime in.

But, I wonder if TeleNav would work with that device? So, any takers out there to test this theory?
    06-08-07 06:54 PM