For about 8-10 years now I've been using a smartphone of some type. With that, I've become accustomed to the keyboard correcting spelling mistakes, correcting grammar, entering punctuation, and even adding in words that I completely missed.

There are a few things to consider with this innovation:
    - human spelling gets worst
    - forgetting phones numbers and the likes get easier
    - correct punctuation and the likes are lost; the device virtually does it for you
    - correct grammar falls by the way side
    ...to name a few.

With the few items listed above, how will humans cope in about 5-10 years, with basic writing? Yeah, that thing where you use pen and paper?
    I heard a story on the BBC news the other day, about a group trying to have cursive writing completely removed from the school curriculum.

We're in for some strange times ahead, no?
    08-17-15 06:02 AM
    As a teacher, I can tell you that cursive writing HAS BEEN removed from the curriculum in our district and others nearby. Which is a big mistake. Not only is cursive faster than carving out letters but isn't it required for official documents: signing a check? signing a deed? signing a lease? etc

The dumbing down of the masses. It comes in many forms.
    Think students know how to be computer savvy? All they know is their smartphone. I am speaking of a cross-section of students that I see only. I can't say it is EVERYONE.

However, technology is making up for this. Look at Windows 10....you can scribble and handwriting recognition will translate and type for you. Use your voice on your smartphone and you can send emails, and messages. Maybe even write a novel that way. SO the question becomes: do we NEED to know the proper mechanics of and grammar to communicate? Eventually we will not.

We; you and me Ivan, are strange breeds that we will be able to do BOTH. haha

I see what you're saying Ivan and I can see some of the changes it will bring.
    08-17-15 06:18 AM
    Correct.