Hi all,

I am new to Blackberry and Smart phones, also new to this site!

I have a question about wifi, and no doubt you guys will know the answer.

When I am at home, my torch connects to my wireless internet and also remains connected to AT&T as well unless I disable one or the other.

I have a 2gig data limit so I want to know if the torch is smart enough to use my wifi instead of data or if I must disable it when browsing at home.

If I disable it, I lose phone operations, but I fear that the phone would still use data unless I tell it not too. All my searches lead to people looking to use wifi without having a data plan.
    11-08-10 08:51 AM
    When connected to WiFi your Berry use's this as a preference to download and upload data. You don't need to disable your radio. - I'm pretty sure I am right, I'm sure others will confirm *crosses fingers*
    11-08-10 08:56 AM
    IF you go to mobile nettwork options, you can change from wifi preferred, to wifi only. You can also change to mobile network preferred/only

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    11-08-10 08:59 AM
    Yea..when connected to WiFi you should see the little Berry symbol beside the router signal. This tells you that your in fact connected to Wifi. When on 2G or 3G you will notice this berry symbol beside them. When on WiFi you will not incur any data charges from your carrier.

11-08-10 09:00 AM
    Set it to WiFi preferred from Options->Networks and Connections -> Mobile network ->Connection Preferences
    Or u can set it to Wifi only when u r at home
    11-08-10 03:34 PM
    Close but not entirely true. Data use is app dependant meaning some only work over 2/3G. You will know when you get one and usually apps that support both will have connection options within the app. Otherwise what is stated above is correct.

11-08-10 03:41 PM
    Thanks!