So as I have mentioned I work in IT and am always reading up about Technology and Security. I own and use a Blackberry Bold 9930 for my personal communications. There are numerous threads that celebrate Blackberry's leading edge security and while I still believe it is very good I find the Stealth Genie product to be troubling. Stealth Genie is an app you download and install on a phone that allows you to record calls, view MMS and SMS messages, read call logs, view/track device location etc, etc.

There is a big balloon pop-out on the product homepage announcing the new capability of intercepting BBM messages on iPhone and Android specifically. Although I dug a bit deeper and read that this app can be installed on BBOS versions 6.0 7.0 as well as 7.1 with no support for BB10. I was shocked to read this fully expecting only BB10 to be vulnerable as I feel BBOS not having an Android runtime environment could only further secure the device.

What bothers me more is that iPhone and Android devices have to be rooted/jailbroken to allow the app to install/function correctly. While BBOS devices can donwload and grant all permissions and so is a much simpler install. Granted the person who installs this would have to have physical access to your phone and be able to beat the PIN lock or password assuming there was one set. But the fact that within minutes you can install and get this running on BBOS while not so on iPhone or Android has me rethinking where Blackberry falls on the "how secure scale" we all discuss on these forums.

Achieving any degree of privacy and security with Mobile devices was already difficult but now lets consider the following scenarios:

• Your Spouse/Boyfriend/Girlfriend/Family Member knows your PIN
    • The Police or someone with similar authority has compelled you to unlock your device and it leaves your site.
    • A coworker or employer gets access to your phone when you are away from your desk