Hi everyone, I'm a newbie so forgive me if this topic is inappropriate or if I'm posting it in the wrong place.

I am in desperate need of a new phone. My dad thought the G1 was a nice phone for me, until he found out that you can't get it through T-Mobile without signing up for a data service package for 24.99/month. He has data service on his Blackberry Curve, but he has it through his company so he doesn't have to pay for it.

Anyway, I was planning on just buying a Nokia but then he heard the new Curve 8900 was coming out on the 11th of this month. He is now insisting I should get that.

My question is, since we are not signing up for data service, is there even really a point to buying a Blackberry at all? Meaning, is it worth it to get one even without the data service?
    02-03-09 06:15 PM
    You can use WiFi to browse, but I'm not sure you can do much else without having a BIS account, which you get when you sign up for a data plan. I could be wrong on this though, you might still be able to BBM and get e-mail without a data plan. I think programs like Beejive IM might work without a data plan as well.
    02-03-09 06:20 PM
    To me. It is pointless to get one without the data service because I'm always messaging and emailing with it.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    02-03-09 06:20 PM
    As long as you know the limitations of not having data and can live
    with them, then you should get whatever phone appeals to you.

Most "smartphones" work better and do so much more with a data
    plan of some sort though.

The 8900 will have Wi-Fi so there is still a considerable amount
    you can do even without data.

And if anyone says a BlackBerry without a data plan is like a
    (insert trite banality here) ignore them.
    Last edited by amazinglygraceless; 02-03-09 at 06:25 PM.
    02-03-09 06:22 PM