I like to tinker, I'm a tech geek; so I get that it is cool/fun/interesting to have Google Play on BB and be able to use Android apps, but at this point why as a Bold 9900 user, would I get another BB device to run Android apps on? I think this is a bad path for BlackBerry to take, especially for those looking to upgrade/get first smartphone. When they look at the major options (iOS, Android, BB, WP) and they see that BB is lacking the apps, but the community is touting Google Play on BB as the "solution" why not just get a (cheaper) Android phone? Remember, 90% of the population is consumers and they just want it to go/work. They don't want to tinker.

I love my Bold keyboard and can't imagine having to use a screen one, but I have to be honest that the Android offerings are doing a lot more these days to perk my interest. I can't really do much until April when I hit the two year mark (of my 3 year contact) and I'm hopeful by then BB has something to wow me into doing an upgrade to them.

Just my 2c
    11-18-13 07:13 AM
    agreed. although the apps bb10 owners will use are mostly native as the android apps dont actually work. skype does... the rest pretty much dont. they r really inadequate mediocre settle for less versions of a full app when u can get a fully functioning app on another platform.

i agree this is not the way to go.. but even with this path they have chosen to take.. its not actually working anyway. im glad i have untiol dec 2014.. cos i have pretty much been converted now to the competiton... but lucky for blackberry, they have a year to change things in the app departmnet. i actually like bb10 and think its the best operatring system that exists (apart from it being a little dull, my opinion) but the app gap is too much for me... prettry much every app apart from a few that i need just doesnt exist unfortunately.
    Anthony_2u likes this.
    11-18-13 07:25 AM
    Bad path... YES.

But maybe at this point that have no other path to take.....