I know BlackBerry phones are oriented towards business, and people who use their phones for communicating and not just apps (apps are bonus, imo only when I'm bored..), but do apps like Facebook, Twitter and the like cost money to use? My step brother, who is a die-hard Apple user (he has a Mac and iPhone 6, etc...), told me that all these fun apps cost money on BlackBerry's. I made the comment that one reason why I want the new BlackBerry Classic is because of the great security that will come with it, and his reply was: "BlackBerry is only great with security because you can't use Facebook, or Twitter or any good apps (unless you pay for them)" It made me re-think my purchase of it...

I'm new to the whole Smartphone thing, and really don't know what phones have what. Sorry for the noob-ish question.
    10-31-14 10:14 PM
    Probably referred to the BlackBerry Internet Service subscription that plagued/bolstered (the jury is out) old BBOS phones.

BB10, on the other hand, has no BIS. Regular old WiFi/cellular data for everything plus pre-installed Facebook and Twitter apps, so no extra charge for anything.
    10-31-14 10:16 PM
    And if you use wifi you can use (some) apps like Facebook and Twitter for free

Posted via CB10
    10-31-14 10:18 PM
    Simple answer, those apps are free and there's more.

Posted via CB10
    10-31-14 10:35 PM
    Hi Jody, Welcome to CB

Smartphone requires data connection for browsing internet thru browser and for Apps which require internet connection like Facebook, Twitter. This data connection is possible thru your cellular provider data package (normally billed as per usage), Home wi-fi router (normally billed as per terms with ISP) and public wi-fi hot spots (generally free but at times billed).