Hey guys and gals,

I'm still pretty new to the BB scene, and unfortunately I'm already experiencing a problem.

My Z/7 Key on my Blackberry Curve has started acting up and so while I type and apply pressure with my fingers that are consistently equal to all the buttons, often times when I hit z/7 it won't register even though the button has made the 'click' sound.

I'm wondering if maybe some dust or something has gotten under it and is preventing the button from making a full connection? If I press just a LITTLE harder it works. It seems small but with being such a new item and the amount it cost me on a tight budget, its rather frustrating.

If anyone knows a remedy for this if there is one, that'd be great... But if not, I was debating on just bringing it back to a Bell store. But I'm worried since its been only a week over a month that they'll send it away for repairs for an extended period of time, OR they'll try and give me a refurb. I did some looking up on this, and apparently that is sometimes the case.

So any insight on this issue would be very much appreciated!

Cheers.
    07-17-10 09:18 PM
    Any fix you do on your own will require you to take the housing off the phone and
    that will almost certainly void your warranty.

I'd have it exchanged. As to the device you get as a replacement it is quite possible
    you may get a refurb unit. This really is not as big a concern as people think. Refurbs
    are fully tested, given entirely new housings and screens where necessary. I have
    had several refurbs and two of them (8100 and 8310) are in use to this day (not
    by me though.)
    07-17-10 09:25 PM
    Thanks for such a quick reply.