So I went to Verizon today to see if they could fix my camera on my Storm that hasn't worked for months. I was away for the Air Force and also didn't care too much. With the holidays coming I was thinking I would like to take some pictures on a rare trip home.

So I go into the store and the girl tells me that I need to plug the phone into my computer so that it is backed up, do a security wipe of the whole phone, and everything will be fine from there. She says all my info will still be on the phone, just that the phone will basically be brand new again. So I am leave and go on my merry way to fix my BB.

Get home, connect the phone via USB and do the wipe how she showed me to. Low and behold, the phone has NOTHING. My internet, contact numbers, pictures, everything is gone. I can no longer do anything with my phone. I can't even set my personal e-mail account back up.

I am at a loss for words. I am no expert on computers or the BB for that matter. To me, it's just access to something to kill my boredom. I don't understand why they would have me do something that would make my BB become, essentially, just a phone and text messaging device. If that were all I wanted, a BB definitely not have been what I bought. Is there anyone that can help me?
    12-22-09 09:23 PM
    first thing we need to know is if you performed a back-up prior to the wipe?
    12-22-09 09:28 PM
    I have no idea. She said simply plugging in the phone to the computer would back it up. So all I did was plug it in. I feel like there has to be more to it since everything is gone.
    12-22-09 09:30 PM
    If you didn't "actually" use Desktop Manager to backup your phone and you "just plugged it in" and nothing more before wiping it, then no... your data is lost. You DIDN'T back the phone up. It doesn't just automatically back itself up just by plugging it into the PC.
    12-22-09 09:32 PM
    Do you have BB Desktop Manager on your computer?
    12-22-09 09:33 PM