I'm a complete noob to the blackberry and bought my first (an 8520) a week ago. So far I am *completely* disappointed with the experience and thought I would explain why.

I am unsure why I have to purchase the Blackberry Internet Service (at an additional �5/mth) to run almost all of the network enabled apps when I am sitting next to my wireless router and the BB has wifi? Is this not just a money making scam? What if my provider decides to up this to �10/mth? I am left with a very fancy phone but cannot access most of it's functionality.

I tried to update the os to v5 before purchasing BIS. This proved virtually impossible. After 3 hours of trying, downloading BBSAK and following numerous instructions on forums like this I gave up and subscribed to BIS.

Why after so many generations of BB is it still so temperamental connecting to wifi? My 8520 will drop connection for no obvious reason (even when I am sitting next to the router) and won't connect without a battery pull. This really is unacceptable. You only have to google bb wifi connection problems to see how many people struggle/cannot connect their bb. (My son's iPhone connects first time every time & never drops a connection)

The final straw came this evening when I updated my os to v5 to find that all my apps have been removed. Not hidden or moved to a different folder but deleted. The BB app world icon disappearing is a known bug and BB have a KB article. To get it back you have to back everything up, erase everything then perform a restore. This still did not restore all my apps and I have to download them all again, including App World. This is unacceptable.