I am currently a non blackberry user. For the last year I have been using a windows mobile (HTC Touch) and have recently upgraded to the HTC TOUCH 3g model but unfortunatly I bought it second hand from a **** off ebay and the 3g function is faulty! Gash!

Since playing around with windows mobile, I think its great but you need the stylus so much and Im getting bored. Also I hate texting on a touch screen phone!

I am really looking for something new and I am concidering forking out alot of cash for a BB.

There are 2 main features I look for in a phone. I want the phone to have a good inbuilt GPS receiver (something that I will also need a good sat nav software as I will using this to replace my tomtom in my car atm) and I also want a phone with 3g speed internet.

My main attraction was the BB Bold as it has these 2 features.I have never used a BB before. What are they like as far as apps and modding etc?
    How do they compare to windows mobiles? The one thing I loved about windows mobiles are how easy you can plug them into the USB and install so many proggies!

Any advise would be really helpful! Thanks in advance!
    09-05-09 04:33 AM
    Either the Bold or the Tour would be a good choice. Take advantage of the free trial period to see which phone and carrier works where you are. What is best for me might have very poor service in your area.

There are many GPS apps. Garmin, TeleNav, and VZNav will look the most like your car GPS, but are not free.

It is easy to add apps to a BlackBerry by USB or over-the-air. If you find a BlackBerry version of a WM app that you already own, you'll still have to purchase a new license. WM apps can't be run on a BlackBerry. You may find that an app that was free on the WM device is not free on the BlackBerry, or does not exist.

BlackBerry devices are not mod-able at the OS level in the same way WM devices are. There is no way for the user to get to the equivalent of win.ini, for example.