I am a student considering a blackberry regardless of how good the 3g iphone will be. I already have an ipod touch so it would be a wise decision to get a blackberry as I am entering university next year and e-mail will probably be critical. I am with Rogers so I would get a device with $15 unlimited e-mailing since I don't care about browsing etc. First question is, do you think Rogers will get the 8320 anytime soon? Otherwise I would just get the 8310 (was considering bold due to its fast OS and 3g but it's just too big).

*Most importantly, what's the difference between BIS and BES in short answer. Which one would I be connected to with the unlimited e-mailing plan?

*When I have my gmail account connected to blackberry, is it totally in control of my account? For example, say I delete an e-mail (gmail) on my blackberry, would it be deleted when I go on to gmail on my computer? And vice versa, if i delete on computer, would it disappear on my blackberry. Also, just how fast is the delivery of push e-mail?
    05-22-08 01:42 AM
    BIS and BES both do email. BES is for users who work for a company that uses the enterprise server. This is probably not for you.

When you delete something on your BlackBerry you have the option of deleting it from your email account if you want. However when you delete on your email account it doesn't do squat on your BlackBerry, at least I have never seen this work.

Push email is instant in most cases. With gmail you get emails within seconds of someone sending it.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    05-22-08 08:34 AM
    i wouldnt wait around for the bold. to my knowledge, there is no official release date for rogers. also, there is no way to know whether they will be getting the 8320 anytime soon. so i would just go with what they have available now.