I have been reading these posts at least twice a day for the past several months, although I don't usually post. I am an IT support tech of almost 20 years, and a blackberry user (& support tech) for the past 5. I have learned quite a few cool little tricks from reading posts here. (Thanks for a great forum, Crackberry!)

Now, on to the point of this message (and my pet peeve...)
    I am seeing multitudes of posters lately saying something to the effect of "hi, just got my first BB a day/week/month ago and I need help updating my OS." Or... "Noob BB user here, just installed the new OS on my week old BB, and it's hosed. Can someone give me some quick pointers?"

Whatever happened to actually USING the device for awhile and learning how it works?

How many of you non-automotive types would go buy a car today, and a week later post on the "Car & Driver" forums "Hello, just got my first car this week... can someone please drop me a few pointers on upgrading my engine?" The laughter from the mechanics would be heard around the world.

What TRULY is the difference between the two? From a support perspective, there is NONE. Both of them require knowledge and experience in that respective field. I drove my first car in 1982... but when my car needs work, I pay someone with that knowledge to fix it for me. My chosen field of expertise is workstations, servers and operating systems. I started working on PCs when DOS 4.0 was hot (and Windows was non-existent). I would not have DREAMED of "updating the OS" a week after I touched my first PC. Blackberries are just handheld computers, and as such they require a certain level of skill and experience that is not usually inbred into the average human.

I realize that I'm probably going to get some flames for this... but that's what I get for telling you the truth. As a REAL support tech, I'm not about to try "giving a few pointers" to a brand new (non-experienced) BB user who has hosed up their device.

**THAT IS NOT REALISTIC.**